Sunday, January 3, 2016

AGM 2015

The Annual General Meeting of the Grimsby Gentlemen Rugby Football Club took place on Monday November 2nd at the more finished (but not quite) clubhouse.  Because of our Trillium grant in 2015 we met in the elegant confines of the main clubroom  with 9 members present (and one non-member baby).

Reports were heard and the election of officers for 2016 was eventful only in that Chris Atkinson stood for and was acclaimed as the new secretary of the club. Chris is a life member of the club, a former President and player and the individual who got us to acquire the clubhouse from the town and led us in the first renovation and building of the field.  Chris has just recently moved back to Grimsby after being away for 10 or so years and we look forward to his guidance and experience for many years to come.

Chris Atkinson (although he did not have the beard when he was elected)

The club would like to express its thanks to Dirk Reichow for his three years as secretary as he was unable to run this year.

Sometime last year Nick and Adam switched portfolios and they continued in those positions for 2016.

The 2016 executive is:(all were acclaimed):

President: Bill Stuart
Treasurer: Nick Lemieux
Secretary: Chris Atkinson
Club Manager: Ross Matheson
Social Secretary: Vic Blaney
Club House Manager: Brendan Vorstenbosch (I bet I spelled that correctly this time)
Fixture Secretary: Adam Meehan
Junior Co-ordinator: James Vienneau

Next year is the clubs 40th year (est. 1977) and we are looking forward to some kind of celebration in mid June and at the same time officially open a completed (hopefully) renovated clubhouse. We need to attract new players (we did very well last season in increasing our numbers) but this needs to continue.  Special thanks to Nick and Brendan for their extra work on the clubhouse.

A new high school team was begun last year at Blessed Trinity and they did very well.  Hopefully they will continue and we can grow some Grimsby players.

No comments:

Post a Comment